Browse Ask a Question
 
Tools
Categories

Deleting inactive members from the database

Reference Number: AA-00261 Views: 14247 Created: 2011-08-16 21:18 Last Updated: 2011-08-16 22:01

This article explains the steps to delete a large number of members from the database. 

WARNING!  This tool will permanently delete member records from your Gym Assistant database.  Once a record has been deleted it will no longer exist and can no longer be accessed.  The transactions that have been created for that member (payments, visits, etc.) will still exist and will appear in detail and summary reports, but the member information itself will not.  For example, the member's payment will appear in journal detail report, but it will not show the member's name.

Note:  Be sure to backup your data before following these steps. (See warning above.)

  1. Backup your data!  (See Warning and Note above.)
  2. Select Special Features from the Utilities menu.
  3. Select Custom Command then click OK.
  4. Enter the command "purge inactive members" (without quotes) and click OK.
  5. Select the Billing Status values for the members you want to delete, then click OK.  Note: You will be able to further filter the list in the next step.
  6. Now select the filters to specify the members you want to delete.

    Click Generate List to see the filtered list.
  7. After reviewing the list of selected members to delete, click Continue to proceed.
  8. The software will ask if you are sure you want to delete the selected members.  Click PURGE to proceed.
  9. In the next screen you must type in "PURGE" (no quotes) and click OK to proceed.
  10. The members will then be deleted from the database. 
Info Ask a Question